Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein

13 Best Gluten Free Protein Powders For Weight Loss (2022 Updated)

As recently as the 1990s, the few doctors and nutritionists that had heard of gluten only knew it to be the result of a chemical bond between the molecules of glutenin and gliadin that allowed things like pizza dough to have its sticky character.

Today, we know that about 1 percent of the population suffers from celiac disease, an intestinal condition triggered by exposure to this ingredient. But, many health professionals believe its danger do not stop there.

As such, gluten-free foods and supplements have become a hot item and there are a growing number of people who consume these types of products.

The following items are gluten-free and hence safe for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity who do not have celiac disease:

1. Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein

Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein

Body Fortress is a combination of whey protein concentrate and whey protein isolate that is advertised as “zero gluten, zero gimmicks.” It also contains a “hyper recovery mix” of pure amino acids, according to the company.

Vanilla, chocolate, banana creme, chocolate peanut butter, cinnamon swirl, cookes ‘n creme (gluten-free), and strawberry are among the flavors available. All tastes are gluten-free to fewer than 20 parts per million; look for the “gluten-free” mark on the label immediately below the ingredients. Soy lecithin is included in Body Fortress (which is added to help the protein powder dissolve).

2. Bodylogix Natural Whey

Bodylogix Natural Whey

Bodylogix is a stevia-sweetened combination of whey protein concentrate, whey protein isolate, and whey protein hydrolysate that comes from grass-fed cows and has no artificial colors or flavors. It’s gluten-free, with fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten, and has a lower lactose content.

Caramel chocolate chip, indulgent chocolate, snickerdoodle, vanilla bean, and natural unflavored are among the flavors available. It has soy lecithin in it.

3. Cabot Whey Protein

Cabot Whey Protein

 

Whey protein concentrate and soy lecithin are the only components in this unflavored protein powder. There are no additional vitamins, minerals, or tastes. Cabot Creamery sells grass-fed whey protein, cheese, and other dairy products. Its products are manufactured in a gluten-free environment.

4. GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein

GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein

GNC provides a large selection of protein powders, but only a few of them are gluten-free. Look for 100% whey protein from Pro Performance (not other Pro Performance products). Plain, creamy strawberry, chocolate supreme, vanilla cream, banana cream, and cookies & cream are among the six varieties available from GNC 100 percent Whey Protein.

There are gluten-free cookie crumbs in the cookies & cream taste (made from rice flour). Milk and soy components and maize starch, sucralose, and other additives are included in the protein powder. It’s gluten-free if there’s less than 20 parts per million of gluten in it.

5. Isopure Natural Flavor

Isopure Natural Flavor

Whey protein isolate is used in this product, which is available in two flavors: chocolate and vanilla. It’s just sweetened with cane sugar and Luo Han Guo, a Chinese sweet fruit used as a sugar alternative. Isopure also contains vitamins and minerals that have been added. It’s gluten-free and lactose-free (to fewer than 20 parts per million).

6. Muscle Milk

Muscle Milk

Muscle Milk is available in powder form, as well as ready-to-drink smoothies containing its protein combination. Whey protein isolate, casein protein, soluble maize fiber, maltodextrin, and vitamins and minerals are among the ingredients.

Banana creme, cake batter (gluten-free), chocolate, cookies and creme (gluten-free), graham cracker (gluten-free), natural chocolate, strawberries ‘n creme, peanut butter chocolate, strawberry banana, and vanilla creme are just a few of the flavors available. Gluten-free Muscle Milk products contain fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten.

7. Labrada Lean Body High Protein Meal Replacement Shake

Labrada Lean Body High Protein Meal Replacement Shake

Whey protein concentrate and isolate and soy protein isolate are included in Labrada’s shake, along with sunflower oil, corn syrup, MCT oil, and vitamins and minerals.

It’s gluten-free (less than 20 parts per million gluten), but if you’re allergic to oats and gluten, keep in mind that it contains oat flour (added for fiber). Chocolate, chocolate peanut butter, vanilla, strawberry, cinnamon bun, and latte are among the six varieties available.

8. Orgain Organic Protein Powder

Orgain Organic Protein Powder

Pea protein, brown rice protein, chia seeds, and hemp protein are used to make this gluten-free, dairy-free, and soy-free protein powder. It contains natural flavors, sea salt, acacia and guar gums, and stevia as a sweetener. Orgain Organic Protein Powder comes in three different flavors: sweet vanilla, creamy chocolate, and peanut butter. It’s gluten-free if there’s less than 20 parts per million of gluten in it.

9. PlantFusion Complete Protein Powder

PlantFusion Complete Protein Powder

Pea protein isolate, artichoke protein, organic sprouted amaranth powder, and organic sprouted quinoa powder are used in PlantFusion’s product, along with fructose (for sweetened versions only), stevia, and guar gum.

It’s gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, egg-free, nut-free, and rice-free. Chocolate, chocolate raspberry, cookies & creme (gluten-free), vanilla bean, and natural unflavored are some of the flavors available. According to the business, all tastes are gluten-free to fewer than 20 parts per million.

10. Quest Protein Powder

Quest Protein Powder

Plain, cinnamon crunch, cookies & cream, salted caramel, banana cream, chocolate milkshake, vanilla milkshake, peanut butter, and strawberries & cream are among the nine flavors available protein powders, which are produced with casein and whey protein isolates.

To fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten, they’re all deemed gluten-free. According to Quest, the cookies in the cookies & cream taste and the crunch in the cinnamon crunch flavor are both created using gluten-free ingredients.

11. TGS Nutrition All-Natural 100% Whey Protein Powder

TGS Nutrition All Natural 100% Whey Protein Powder

Whey protein and soy lecithin are the only two components in this whey protein powder. It’s prepared from milk from cows who have never been given recombinant bovine growth hormone (rBGH) (a hormone injected into dairy cows to make them produce more milk). TGS Nutrition whey protein powder is gluten-free (TGS stands for “The Good Stuff”) to fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten.

12. Thorne Research MediPro Vegan All-In-One Shake

Thorne Research MediPro Vegan All In One Shake

This powder is intended to be an all-in-one nutritional meal replacement, according to Thorne Research, a vitamin and nutritional supplement company. It comes in two flavors: vanilla and chocolate, and it contains pea, chlorella, and chia proteins, as well as vitamins and minerals.

It’s free of gluten (to fewer than 20 parts per million), soy, dairy, GMOs, and artificial sweeteners. Thorne Research does not produce any gluten-containing goods.

13. Vega One All-In-One Protein Powder

Vega One All In One Protein Powder

Pea protein, pea starch, flaxseed, hemp protein, sacha inchi protein, organic gelatinized maca root, broccoli, kale, spirulina, and green algae are among the components listed by Vega as “genuine, whole food ingredients.” It also includes carrots, beets, cranberries, and blueberries, among other vegetables and fruits.

Chocolate, chocolate almond, French vanilla, mixed berry, mocha, natural, natural unsweetened, and vanilla chai are the eight flavors available. Gluten-free (to fewer than 20 parts per million), vegan-certified, soy-free, and dairy-free, this powder has it all. It’s manufactured at a facility that also handles tree nuts, peanuts, dairy, soy, and egg (but not wheat).

Is Whey Gluten Free?

Yes, it is. Whether in concentrate, isolate or hydrolysate form, whey itself does not contain this ingredient. This means that consuming this type of protein should be a safe thing to do if you suffer from celiac disease.

However, and this is important, there are some types of supposedly gluten-free whey protein powder that include additives in their formulation.

Glutamine, for instance, is a fairly common protein powder additive that is derived from wheat just like gluten and which many health professionals say should be avoided if you suffer from its intolerance.

Choosing the Best Gluten Free Protein Supplement

As you have likely deduced by now, this can be a tricky ingredient to track down. The fact that protein powders are not subject to FDA regulations only complicates the matter, allowing companies to claim their protein is gluten-free while adding glutamine to their powder to make it more agreeable.

With that, when choosing a supplement, it’s imperative that you read labels carefully and thoroughly. Should you see any of the following on the ingredient list you’ll want to take a pass, especially if you have celiac disease:

  • Glutamine
  • Wheat Starch
  • Triticale
  • Malts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *